Woodhouse a parish of the Sheffield Diocese is located approximately six miles from the city centre and surrounded by the parishes of Handsworth, Aston, Treeton, Richmond and Beighton. Woodhouse has traditionally been a mining village with many in the village being employed at the local Beighton pit, which has now closed, or within the vibrant steel industry of Sheffield.
Originally part of the Handsworth parish Woodhouse did not become a parish in its own right until St James church was built in 1878 on land given by Thomas Cadman, resident of Ballifield Hall. The church served both the villages of Woodhouse and Woodhouse Mill until the ‘Mill’ grew to such an extent it acquired its own church St James Mission chapel built in 1892.
The two villages were separate in structure as well as the villagers keeping themselves to themselves and were naturally divided visibly by the Sheffield to Retford rail line with Woodhouse station being opened in 1876. Woodhouse as a village was absorbed into the wider district of Sheffield in 1921 much to the dismay of local residents and even today still fights to keep its distinct village feel.
From the 1950’s major housing developments at Normanton Springs, Mauncer, Stradbroke, Shirtcliffe, Tithe Barn, the Tannery, the Badger and Coalbrook (actually in the Rotherham borough) now surrounded the old villages and they joined into one distinct area.